Selfie taken at the Commonwealth Youth Forum

The Commonwealth

  • 54 countries working together for prosperity, democracy and peace

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 54 independent and equal countries. It is home to 2.4 billion people, and includes both advanced economies and developing countries.


Our members work together to promote prosperity, democracy and peace, amplify the voice of small states, and protect the environment.

Areas we work in

Featured programmes

Commonwealth countries

Recent publicationsVisit the bookshop

Commonwealth timeline

Commonwealth organisations

More than 80 accredited organisations.

Featured organisation - The Commonwealth of Learning

The Commonwealth of Learning promotes the development and sharing of open learning and distance education knowledge, resources and technologies.

Read more about the Commonwealth of Learning